Missing the point?

July 23, 2009

all alone in serving God..

 

The prophet Elijah experienced his own depression very shortly after experiencing a major victory with God. Elijah held a competition – himself against 450 prophets of Baal! – to prove the might of God. After a lot of storm and drama, God proved Himself to be the Only True God and Elijah experienced a major personal victory. The queen at the time -Jezebel – was very unhappy about this and threatened Elijah’s life. Elijah became frightened and ran for his life. After coming to the end of his (physical) rope (in the wilderness), he stopped and started to feel very badly for himself. http://christiantherapy.blogspot.com/2006/05/do-christians-get-depressed-part-1.html
 
A mighty prophet of God  Elijah next falsely was led to believe that he was all alone in serving God.. many of us are made to feel that way now too. We need to see God’s perspective…
 
I kings 19: 1-3  And Ahab told Jezebel all that Elijah had done, also how he had executed all the prophets with the sword. Then Jezebel sent a messenger to Elijah, saying, “So let the gods do to me, and more also, if I do not make your life as the life of one of them by tomorrow about this time.” And when he saw that, he arose and ran for his life, and went to Beersheba, which belongs to Judah, and left his servant there. 4  But he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness, and came and sat down under a broom tree. And he prayed that he might die, and said, “It is enough! Now, Lord, take my life, for I am no better than my fathers!”
 
(5-8)  Then as he lay and slept under a broom tree, suddenly an angel touched him, and said to him, “Arise and eat.” Then he looked, and there by his head was a cake baked on coals, and a jar of water. So he ate and drank, and lay down again. And the angel of the Lord came back the second time, and touched him, and said, “Arise and eat, because the journey is too great for you.” So he arose, and ate and drank; and he went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights as far as Horeb, the mountain of God. (9-10) And there he went into a cave, and spent the night in that place; and behold, the word of the Lord came to him, and He said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” So he said, “I have been very zealous for the Lord God of hosts; for the children of Israel have forsaken Your covenant, torn down Your altars, and killed Your prophets with the sword. I alone am left; and they seek to take my life.”
 
(16-18)  “Also you shall anoint Jehu the son of Nimshi as king over Israel. And Elisha the son of Shaphat of Abel Meholah you shall anoint as prophet in your place. It shall be that whoever escapes the sword of Hazael, Jehu will kill; and whoever escapes the sword of Jehu, Elisha will kill. Yet I have reserved seven thousand in Israel, all whose knees have not bowed to Baal, and every mouth that has not kissed him.”
 
The same prophet  Elijah was not alone in serving, obeying God in fact..
 
(Jer 15:15 KJV)  O LORD, thou knowest: remember me, and visit me, and revenge me of my persecutors; take me not away in thy longsuffering: know that for thy sake I have suffered rebuke. 16  Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts. 17  I sat not in the assembly of the mockers, nor rejoiced; I sat alone because of thy hand: for thou hast filled me with indignation. 18  Why is my pain perpetual, and my wound incurable, which refuseth to be healed? wilt thou be altogether unto me as a liar, and as waters that fail?
 
and look at what God had said next..
  
(Jer 15:19 KJV) Therefore thus saith the LORD, If thou return, then will I bring thee again, and thou shalt stand before me: and if thou take forth the precious from the vile, thou shalt be as my mouth: let them return unto thee; but return not thou unto them. 20  And I will make thee unto this people a fenced brazen wall: and they shall fight against thee, but they shall not prevail against thee: for I am with thee to save thee and to deliver thee, saith the LORD. 21  And I will deliver thee out of the hand of the wicked, and I will redeem thee out of the hand of the terrible.

(I kings 19: 19-21)   So he departed from there, and found Elisha the son of Shaphat, who was plowing with twelve yoke of oxen before him, and he was with the twelfth. Then Elijah passed by him and threw his mantle on him. And he left the oxen and ran after Elijah, and said, “Please let me kiss my father and my mother, and then I will follow you.” And he said to him, “Go back again, for what have I done to you?” So Elisha turned back from him, and took a yoke of oxen and slaughtered them and boiled their flesh, using the oxen’s equipment, and gave it to the people, and they ate. Then he arose and followed Elijah, and became his servant.

This demonstrated Elisha’s complete commitment to following Elijah. He destroyed the tools of his trade in a going away party for his family and friends. i. “Elisha must have had a considerable estate, when he kept twelve yoke of oxen to till the ground. If, therefore, he obeyed the prophetic call, he did it to considerable secular loss.”   ii. “Hereby he showed how willingly and joyfully he forsook all his friends, that he might serve God in that high and honourable employment.” 

others also followed God..

2 Comments »

  1. Yes there are ‘others’. In Elijah’s time there were seven thousand, and today there are “few who enter in through the strait and narrow gate” for “the multitudes follow the broad way to destruction”…….

    Peace, in spite of the dis-ease(no-peace) that is of this wicked world, for “the WHOLE(not just a portion) world is under the control of the evil one” indeed and Truth……. francis

    ASimpleAndSpiritualLife.Blogspot.Com

    Comment by Francisco — July 25, 2009 @ 8:41 am

  2. As I look back at my life most of which was spent in the Christian churches my biggest regrets were that for decades too;

    1: That the pastors had lied to me about their role even in the church, and they had not led me into the proper spiritual truths. The pastors, elders had clearly lied when they said I was to obey and to follow them, or led me falsely to believe that was a priority but submission to God is what God firstly desires and not to any man, and rather I was to obey and follow the leading of God, Jesus, the holy spirit over man’s too.

    (Mat 4:19 KJV) And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.(Acts 5:29 KJV) Then Peter and the other apostles answered and said, We ought to obey God rather than men. (Jer 17:5 KJV) Thus saith the LORD; Cursed be the man that trusteth in man, and maketh flesh his arm, and whose heart departeth from the LORD. (Jer 17:7 KJV) Blessed is the man that trusteth in the LORD, and whose hope the LORD is. see also http://pbulow.tripod.com/struct.html

    2: Jesus himself had said without me you can do nothing.. you are the branches and I am the vine and if you do not abide with me you will die. (John 9:33 KJV) If this man were not of God, he could do nothing.

    (John 15:5 KJV) I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. 6 If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned. 7 If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. 8 Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples. 9 As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love. 15:10 If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. see also http://pbulow.tripod.com/whatChurch.htm

    3: No one had told me that the holy spirit empowers us to live the Christian life that God wants us to live, to even to be able to help others.

    (Acts 1:8 KJV) But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth. (Acts 10:38 KJV) How God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Ghost and with power: who went about doing good, and healing all that were oppressed of the devil; for God was with him. see also http://pbulow.tripod.com/anointed.html

    4: No pastor had told me that I could specially hear God voice personally, a clear distinct voice but they were too busy telling me about the devil..

    (John 10:27 KJV) My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: (Gen 27:8 KJV) Now therefore, my son, obey my voice according to that which I command thee. (Exo 19:5 KJV) Now therefore, if ye will obey my voice indeed, and keep my covenant, then ye shall be a peculiar treasure unto me above all people: for all the earth is mine:(Jer 7:23 KJV) But this thing commanded I them, saying, Obey my voice, and I will be your God, and ye shall be my people: and walk ye in all the ways that I have commanded you, that it may be well unto you. (Jer 11:7 KJV) For I earnestly protested unto your fathers in the day that I brought them up out of the land of Egypt, even unto this day, rising early and protesting, saying, Obey my voice. see also http://pbulow.tripod.com/voice.html

    5: and they left out many other things now too… see also http://pbulow.tripod.com/

    6: I also have not regretted I had not prayed more for myself even that God would deliver me for all evil… so I could live a quiet and peaceful life..

    (1 Tim 2:1 KJV) I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men; :2 For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty. 3 For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Saviour; 4 Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth. 5 For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus; see also http://pbulow.tripod.com/praying.html

    see also http://pbulow.tripod.com/healing.html

    Well it was better for me to learn the truths now later over never..

    http://comeholyspirit.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/my-biggest-regrets/

    Comment by thenonconformer — July 25, 2009 @ 9:06 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

