Missing the point?

May 24, 2008

I will Praise Him

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — thenonconformer @ 10:56 am

 WHEN I SURVEY THE WONDROUS CROSS – by Isaac Watts, 1707

              When I survey the wondrous cross
              On which the Prince of Glory died,
              My richest gain I count but loss,
              And pour contempt on all my pride.

              Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
              Save in the death of Christ, my God;
              All the vain things that charm me most,
              I sacrifice them to His blood.

              See, from His head, His hands, His feet,
              Sorrow and love flow mingled down;
              Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
              Or thorns compose so rich a crown?

              His dying crimson, like a robe,
              Spreads o’er His body on the tree;
              Then I am dead to all the globe,
              And all the globe is dead to me.

              Were the whole realm of nature mine,
              That were a present far too small;
              Love so amazing, so divine,
              Demands my soul, my life, my all.

                                 Amen.

As The Deer

As the deer panteth for the water
So my soul longeth after thee
You alone are my hearts desire
And I long to worship you
You alone are my strength, my shield
To You alone may my spirit yield
You alone are my hearts desire
And I long to worship you

Amazing Grace

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears relieved;
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed!

Through many dangers, toils, and snares,
I have already come;
‘Tis grace has brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home.

The Lord had promised good to me,
His word my hope secures;
He will my shield and portion be
As long as life endures.

Lord, I lift your name on high

Lord, I lift Your name on high.
Lord, I love to sing Your praises.
I’m so glad You’re in my life.
I’m so glad You came to save us.
You came from Heaven to earth to show the way,
From the earth to the cross, my debt to pay;
From the cross to the grave, from the grave to the sky;
Lord, I lift Your name on high. (Repeat)

Make Me a Channel of Your Peace

Make me a channel of your peace.
Where there is hatred let me bring your love.
Where there is injury, your pardon,
Lord And where there’s doubt, true faith in you.

[Chorus]
Oh, Master grant that I may never seek
So much to be consoled as to console
To be understood as to understand
To be loved as to love with all my soul.

Make me a channel of your peace
Where there’s despair in life, let me bring hope
Where there is darkness, only light
And where there’s sadness, ever joy.
[Chorus]

Make me a channel of your peace
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned
In giving to all men that we receive
And in dying that we’re born to eternal life.
[Chorus]

Since Jesus Came Into My Heart

R. H. McDaniel and Charles Hutchinson Gabriel

What a wonderful change in my life has been wrought,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
I have light in my soul for which long I had sought,
Since Jesus came into my heart!

Refrain
Since Jesus came into my heart,
Since Jesus came into my heart,
Floods of joy over my soul Like the sea billows roll,
Since Jesus came into my heart.

Verse 2:
I have ceased from my wandering and going astray,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And my sins, which were many, are all washed away,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
Refrain

Verse 3:
I’m possessed of a hope that is steadfast and sure,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And no dark clouds of doubt now my pathway obscure,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
Refrain

Verse 4:
There’s a light in the valley of death now for me,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And the gates of the City beyond I can see,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
Refrain

Verse 5:
I shall go there to dwell in that City, I know,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And I’m happy, so happy, as onward I go,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
Refrain

What A Friend We Have In Jesus

Joseph Scriven and Charles C. Converse
Verse 1:
What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer.
O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry ev’rything to God in prayer.

Verse 2:
Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged; take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness, take it to the Lord in prayer.

Verse 3:
Are we weak and heavy laden, cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior still our refuge, take it to the Lord in prayer.
Do thy friends despise, forsake thee? Take it to the Lord in prayer.
In His arms He’ll take and shield thee, thou wilt find a solace there.

A New Commandment

A new commandment I give unto you,
That you love one another as I have loved you,
That you love one another as I have loved you.
By this shall all men know that you are My disciples,
if you have love one for another.
By this shall all men know that you are My disciples,
if you have love one for another.
– John 13:34-35
 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

